The Institute of Certified Public Accountants of Uganda (ICPAU) is set to host the 3rd East African Congress of Accountants (EACOA) in conjunction with the National Board of Accountants and Auditors (NBAA), the Institute of Certified Public Accountants of Kenya (ICPAK), the Institute of Certified Public Accountants of Rwanda (ICPAR) and Ordre Des Professionnels Comptables Du Burundi (OPC). 

The Congress will be held both physically, at Hotel Africana, Kampala, and, virtually, from 14 - 16 April 2021.

EACOA brings together notable professionals, thought leaders and experts to deliberate and craft solutions to underlying challenges within the profession and discuss the impact of other sectors on the profession. 

The 3rd EACOA is premised on the theme; “Integration for Accelerated Economic Growth and Development"


April 2021, Kampala
East African Congress of Accountants 2021

Reasons to attend EACOA

Continuing Professional Development (CPD):

1.   Participants will learn and share knowledge on topics of great significance. Accountants will earn 21 CPD hours.

Connect with Professionals

The 3rd EACOA is envisaged to attract over 1,000 professional accountants from the East African Community (EAC). Technocrats and pundits from various sectors are expected.


ICPAU is the national professional accountancy organization, established in 1992 by an Act of Parliament, now the Accountants Act, 2013.  


The Institute sets syllabi and conducts examinations for 3 courses; the Certified Public Accountants of Uganda [CPA-U] course, the Accounting Technician’s Diploma (ATD) and the Certified Tax Advisor (CTA).


ICPAU is a member of the International Federation of Accountants (IFAC) the Pan African Federation of Accountants (PAFA) and the Association for Educational Assessment in Africa (AEAA).

EACIAs Mutual Recognition Agreement (MRA)

In line with the EAC common market protocol, the East African Community Institutes of Accountants (EACIAs): ICPAK, ICPAR, ICPAU, NBAA and OPC in 2011 signed an MRA to facilitate the mutual recognition of professional accountancy qualifications and the movement of professional accountants among the EAC member states. Areas of collaboration are: member education, institutional capacity building, organizational support, development of technical resources and learning material, and standard setting, among others.